The Magic of the Classics

Standard

Hello!

I have wanted to write for the past two weeks, but sadly I have been in too much pain with constant migraines and my frustrating CRPS foot. I am very pleased to announce I have no head pain today!!
To keep my mind distracted without thinking too hard over the past few weeks, I have watched some old classic movies in bed with my mum. We have watched:
• An Affair to Remember
• Breakfast at Tiffany’s
• To Catch a Thief
• Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner

My favourite movie was Breakfast at Tiffany’s. What I loved most about each of the old movies was the clothes the ladies wore. My favourite outfit was Audrey Hepburn’s stunning and sleek, fitted black dress that she wore in the first scene of Breakfast at Tiffany’s.
BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY'S, Audrey Hepburn, 1961

My mum’s favourite outfit was a gorgeous, flowing and feminine strapless gown from To Catch a Thief, that Grace Kelly wore.

to-catch-a-thief-grace-kelly-white-dress1

In every movie, there were magnificent pieces of jewellery that had both of us exclaiming, “Wow… Oohh… Ahh… How pretty!”
If you have read my previous post, Sparkle- Shimmer- Shine, you will know that I love a bit of bling! It was like heaven when I saw all those jewels!
Mum and I both laughed when we watched how much they used to smoke back then. It was the first time I had seen a cigarette stick too! I guess it is good for our health that we don’t see that in movies anymore.
My mum gave me a makeover inspired by Audrey Hepburn, just for fun. I had a big bun just like her and a pretty necklace on. I had a slick of fuchsia pink lipstick, and pale pink stick on earrings. In the end I felt like a princess. When I sat at the dinner table, the rest of the family let me pretend I was Audrey. It was so much fun, but before I knew it the night was over and my makeup was wiped off 😦 . But I will be sure to do it again!

FZ as Audrey

What I had noticed about the women that starred in the old films, was that they were strong and they knew how to get something when they wanted it. But they were still gentle, and their voices were still calm and soothing. They showed determination, grace and a quiet confidence that inspires me to take control of Lexi Leftie! (For new readers, this is the name of my CRPS foot.) These old movies have helped me to change my feelings of pessimism (that is for you Ron) into an optimistic mindset again!

So my readers, make this day a classic one, for you can look back in your life and enjoy it yet again.

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others;
For beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness;
And for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.” ~ Audrey Hepburn

FZ out!! 🙂

 

The Classics

10 thoughts on “The Magic of the Classics

  1. Those old classics are great. One of my favorites is North by Northwest, with Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint (among others). Not only were the women classy in those old movies, but the men knew how to cut a fine line as well. 🙂

    Glad you and your family had fun. It certainly puts the mind in a happy place.

    Be well, FZ. 🙂

  2. Claire

    Great post as usual FZ! If you like Audrey Hepburn, check out ‘Funny Face’ – lots of gorgeous clothes in that one! Hope you get that Lexi Leftie under control soon xx

  3. I love the old classics too!
    Audrey Hepburn was one incredible person. Talented, yet humble. Not like so many of the ‘stars’ today.
    I pray Lexi Leftie is behaving for you!
    Sending Hugs

Comments are closed.